North-Eastern Federal University named after Maxim Kirovich Ammosov Institute of Medicine

The Ammosov North-Eastern Federal University, NEFU, previously known as Yakutsk State University, is the largest higher education institution in the Russian northeast and it is one of the ten federal universities of the nation. NEFU has four campuses with the main located in Siberia’s Yakutsk and others in Chukotka’s Anadyr, Mirny, and Neryungri.

The official name is Ammosov North-Eastern Federal University Federal State Autonomous Educational Institution of Higher Education.

The undergraduate student population numbers over 16,000.

More than 500 students are engaged in postgraduate work.

1,600 academic staff are employed at the university. Of these 200 hold doctor’s degree, 800 are candidate of science degree.

15 institutes, 9 faculties, 3 university branches in Mirny, Nerungry and Chukotka, 5 major research institutes.

119 degree courses are available to students.

The university occupies 9 buildings and 12 residence halls located mostly on the campus.

1 500,000 books, periodicals and other items are held in the library.

The university has Geology Field Station, Museum of Archeology and Ethnography, Botanical garden and Orangery open to staff and students’ research and study.

There is a stadium, swimming pool, and social centre.

Students and staff have free access to the Ethernet and Wi-Fi in all university buildings and residence hall.

NEFU was officially established in April 2010 on the basis of Ammosov Yakutsk State University, the university with 75 years history.

The university holds the name of Maksim Kirovich Ammosov, an outstanding statesman of Soviet Yakutia, the son of the Sakha nation and one of the founders of Yakutia and Kyrgyzstan statehood.

Recent reforms in the Russian Federation created a new network of federal universities. This trend towards integration and modernization in higher university education is typical of many countries. As international experience shows, additional financial support from government promotes the high quality of education and higher performance in international rankings. The North-Eastern Federal University is to become a strategic center for the formation of a common cultural, scientific and educational space, based on the values of indigenous culture of the peoples of the northeast of Russia, providing quality personal education in a multiethnic environment.

The NEFU development program towards the year 2020 was approved by Russian Prime Minister Vladimir Putin on October 7, 2010. The following priority areas were identified:

  • the new quality of the university;
  • efficient environmental management and environmental security;
  • efficient use of mineral resources;
  • the use of science-based technologies and production in the North;
  • the quality of life in the north;
  • the preservation and development of languages and cultures;
  • the analytical and personnel support for innovative socio-economic development of the northeastern part of the Russian Federation

Faculties of North-Eastern Federal University named after Maxim Kirovich Ammosov:


  • Institute of Medicine
  • Institute of Finances and Economics
  • Institute of Mathematics and Information Science
  • Institute of Physics and Technologies
  • Institute of Sports and Physical Education
  • Institute of Modern Languages and International Studies
  • Institute of Psychology
  • Institute of Languages and Cultures of the Peoples of the North-East
  • Teacher Training Institute
  • Institute of Engineering & Technology
  • Institute of Natural Sciences
  • Mining Institute


  • Faculty of History
  • Faculty of Philology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Road Construction
  • Faculty of Geology and Survey


  • Nerungri Technical Institute (branch) of North-Eastern Federal University
  • Mirny Polytechnic Institute (branch) of North-Eastern Federal University
  • Chukotka branch of North-Eastern Federal University

Scientific research institutes:

  • Research Institute of Regional Economy of the North
  • Research Institute of Applied Ecology of the North
  • Research Institute of Health
  • Research Institute of Mathematics
  • Research Institute of Olonkho
  • Institute of A. E Kulakovsky
  • Additional education:
  • Institute of Additional Professional Education
  • Faculty of Pre-Undergraduate Education offers preparatory courses to schoolchildren

University department:

  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Northern Studies

Student Accommodation

The NEFU campus called Sergelyakh has 15 dormitories. Each dormitory building can accommodate 1000, a total accommodation facility is for 15000 students. Advance sanitary-epidemiological services and fire safety is applied in all the dormitories. During leisure, the students can head to the Sergelyakhsky Lights – the hostel’s Cultural Center.

Yakutsk City

Yakutsk is a city in Russia, the capital of Sakha Republic (Yakutia), a port on the Lena River. It is the largest and the oldest city in Yakutia, one of the oldest cities in Siberia.

Yakutsk is an administrative, cultural, financial, and scientific center of the north-east Russia, the third city of the Far Eastern Federal District in terms of population (after Vladivostok and Khabarovsk).

Yakutsk features

Yakutsk is a city with one of the most contrasting temperature conditions in the world. It is the largest city located in the permafrost zone. The climate is of sharp continental type. Summers are moderately warm, winters are long (from November to March) and very cold. The average temperature in July is plus 19.5 degrees Celsius, in January – minus 38.6 degrees Celsius.

In summer, there is a long period of “white nights”, and in winter (December) – daylight lasts only 3-4 hours. Ethnic composition according to the 2002 census: Russians – 46,1%, Yakuts – 42.4%. Yakutsk celebrates the City Day on the second Sunday in September.

This city, being an administrative and cultural center of the region, doesn’t have developed industry. Yakutsk is located on the left bank of the Lena River. Due to the fact that the city is not connected with the “mainland” by railway, the main cargo turnover passes through the river port. Urban and suburban passenger transport is represented by buses.

It is not an easy task to reach Yakutsk by car: the federal highway A360 M56 “Lena” ends in the settlement of Nizhny Bestyah, located on the right bank of the Lena, opposite Yakutsk. Connection with Yakutsk is as follows: in summer – by ferry, in winter (December-April) – across the ice-covered river, when ice is drifting – only by air.

Yakutsk International Airport is used for domestic and foreign flights. The airport offers regular flights to Moscow, St. Petersburg, Khabarovsk, Novosibirsk, Vladivostok, Chita, Ulan-Ude, Irkutsk, Sochi, Seoul (South Korea), Beijing (China) and other cities.



Admission process


Make online application to any russian university with RUSVUZ


Get guarantee invitation letter from any university of Russian Federation with RUSVUZ


Get guarantee visa in the nearest embassy


Come to Russian University and get excellent education


Apply online

Complete this form and we'll contact you shortly with all details