Russian State Professional Pedagogical University

Russian state vocational-pedagogical university (RSVPU) is a federal state autonomous educational institution of higher education in Yekaterinburg, which includes institutes, a college, a branch in Nizhny Tagil and representations in several cities of Russian Federation.


Brief history of the university:


  • Russian state vocational-pedagogical university starts functioning as Sverdlovsk engineering-pedagogical institute (SEPI).
  • SEPI was reformed into Ural state vocational-pedagogical university (USVPU).
  • USVPU was reformed into Russian state vocational-pedagogical university. Thus, the university became the first and the only one not located in Moscow or Saint Petersburg having the honorable title ‘Russian’.
  • RSVPU became one of the first Russian universities to get a name of autonomous educational institution of higher education.
  • The 50th thousand student graduates RSVPU.


Faculties of Russian State Professional Pedagogical University:

Institute of psychological-pedagogical education


  • Department of mathematics and science
  • Department of philosophy and arts
  • Department of professional pedagogy and psychology
  • Department of educational psychology and professional development
  • Department of physical education
  • Department of Russian and foreign languages
  • Department of German philology
  • Ural linguistic school
  • Centre of psychological-pedagogical maintenance of inclusive education

Institute of humanitarian and social-economical education


  • Department of document studies, history and legal enforcement
  • Department of sociology and social work
  • Department of interior design
  • Department of style and image
  • Department of musical-computer technology, cinema and television
  • Department of management
  • Department of economics
  • Department of professional-economical education
  • Department of theory and methodic of physical education
  • Educational workshop of multimedia technologies
  • Scientific-methodical commission of Institute of HaSEE

Institute of engineering-pedagogical education


  • Department of engineering and professional education in mechanical engineering and metallurgy
  • Department of technology of mechanical engineering, certification and methodic of professional education
  • Department of energetic and transport
  • Department of information systems and technology
  • Training demonstrational center of mechanical engineering technology
  • College of electric power industry and mechanical engineering

Institute of development of territorial systems of professional-pedagogical education

Institute of continuous studying

Student Accommodation

Dorms consist of eight rooms per floor, with 2-3 people per room. Each floor also has one kitchen and two toilets, and the basement has a shower. Students cannot select their own rooms. We encourage students to apply early, as the number of rooms are limited. Some students may not be comfortable with dorm rules, as they are often considered strict.

All Dormitories have the following facilities:

  • Kitchen
  • Laundry room
  • Medical aid cabinet
  • Gym
  • Reading room
  • Free Internet connection

Yekaterinburg City

Yekaterinburg or Ekaterinburg (Sverdlovsk in 1924-1991) is the fourth most populous city in Russia (after Moscow, St. Petersburg, and Novosibirsk), the administrative center of the Ural Federal District and Sverdlovsk Oblast.

Yekaterinburg – Features

Yekaterinburg is located in the floodplain of the Iset River on the eastern slope of the Middle Urals in Asia, near its border with Europe, about 1,800 km east of Moscow. Since the Ural Mountains are very old, there are no significant hills in the city.

This relief was a favorable condition for the construction of the main transport routes from Central Russia to Siberia (the Siberian Route and the Trans-Siberian Railway) through Yekaterinburg. As a result, it has become one of the most strategically important centers of Russia, which still provides a link between the European and Asian parts of the country.

Yekaterinburg is located in the border zone of temperate continental and continental climates. It is characterized by a sharp variability in weather conditions with well-defined seasons. The Ural Mountains, despite their low height, block the way to the masses of air coming from the west from the European part of Russia.

As a result, the Middle Urals is open to the invasion of cold Arctic air and continental air of the West Siberian Plain. At the same time, warm air masses of the Caspian Sea and the deserts of Central Asia can freely enter this territory from the south.

That is why the city is characterized by sharp temperature fluctuations and the formation of weather anomalies: in winter from severe frosts to thaws and rains, in summer from heat above plus 35 degrees Celsius to frosts. The average temperature in January is minus 12.6 degrees Celsius, in July – plus 19 degrees Celsius.

The city has a rather unfavorable environmental situation due to air pollution. In 2016, Yekaterinburg was included in the list of Russian cities with the worst environmental situation by this indicator. Car emissions account for more than 90% of all pollution.

Yekaterinburg ranks third in Russia (after Moscow and St. Petersburg) in the number of diplomatic missions, while their consular districts extend far beyond Sverdlovsk Oblast, and serve other regions of the Urals, Siberia, and the Volga region.

In terms of economy, Yekaterinburg also ranks third in the country. It is one of the largest financial and business centers of Russia. The main branches of production: metallurgical production and metalworking, food production, production of electrical equipment, electronic and optical equipment, production of vehicles, production of machinery and equipment, chemical production.

Almost all types of urban public transport are presented in Yekaterinburg: buses, trolleybuses, trams, subways, taxis. Yekaterinburg is the third largest transportation hub in Russia: 6 federal highways, 7 main railway lines, as well as Koltsovo International Airport, one of the country’s largest airports. The location of Yekaterinburg in the central part of the region allows you to get from it to any major city of the Urals in 7-10 hours.

Yekaterinburg has an extensive scientific and technical potential, it is one of the largest scientific centers in Russia. The Presidium and about 20 institutes of the Ural Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, 66 research institutes, and about 30 universities are located here.

This city is a relatively large tourist center. A significant part of tourists visit it to honor the memory of the last Russian emperor and his family killed by the Bolsheviks in the basement of the Ipatiev House in 1918.

There are about 50 different museums in Yekaterinburg. One of the world’s largest collections of constructivist architectural monuments has been preserved here. In total, there are over 600 historical and cultural monuments in the city, of which 43 are objects of federal significance. The City Day of Yekaterinburg is celebrated on the third Saturday of August

Admission process


Make online application to any russian university with RUSVUZ


Get guarantee invitation letter from any university of Russian Federation with RUSVUZ


Get guarantee visa in the nearest embassy


Come to Russian University and get excellent education


Apply online

Complete this form and we'll contact you shortly with all details